Giants of Broadcasting 2012 Honorees


10 for 10th: Library of American Broadcasting

To Present Giants of Broadcasting Honors

Awards go to Sir Howard Stringer, Ted Turner, Norman Lear, George Beasley, Erica Farber, Robert MacNeil & Jim Lehrer, Andy Rooney, Don Cornelius and Dinah Shore

The national Library of American Broadcasting will present its 10th Annual GIANTS OF BROADCASTING Honors at a ceremony and luncheon to be held on October 18, 2012, in New York City. The event, attended by prominent members of the broadcasting, media and corporate communities, serves as a tribute to those individuals who have played pivotal roles in creating and advancing the electronic arts. The distinguished honorees join 140 Giants of Broadcasting who have been honored by the Library since 2003. BILL BAKER, president emeritus of WNET New York and himself a Giant of Broadcasting, will serve as master of ceremonies. 

HONOREES:           Sir Howard Stringer, Chairman of the Sony Corporation
                                  Ted Turner, Media Mogul and Creator of CNN, TBS, TNT; Philanthropist
                                  Norman Lear, Writer-Producer of All in the Family, Maude, The Jeffersons, Sanford and Son and a number of major hits
                                  George Beasley, Chairman, CEO and Founder of Beasley Broadcast Group
                                  Erica Farber, President and CEO of the Radio Advertising Bureau
                                  Robert MacNeil and Jim Lehrer, Creators and Anchors of The MacNeil/Lehr Report, MacNeil/Lehrer News Hour, NewsHour with Jim Lehrer and PBS NewsHour
                                  Andy Rooney* Veteran reporter; writer; commentator on CBS’ 60 Minutes
                                  Don Cornelius**, Creator, Host and Producer of nationally syndicated Soul Train
                                  Dinah Shore***, Singer, Actress and Television Personality
                                  *Leslie Stahl, Correspondent, 60 Minutes and Face the Nation, will accept the award on behalf of Andy Rooney.
                                  **Tony Cornelius will be accepting for his father, Don Cornelius.
                                  ***Dick Arlett, producer of “Dinah and Friends,” will accept for Dinah Shore.

WHEN:                      Thursday, October 18
                                    11:30 a.m. (Reception)                                          
                                    Noon – 2:30 p.m. (Luncheon and Awards Ceremony)              

WHERE:                    The Starlight Roof (18th Floor)
                                    Waldorf-Astoria Hotel
                                    301 Park Avenue (Between 49th and 50th Streets)
                                    New York City

TICKETS:                 Reservations for tables and individual tickets to the event may be arranged through Jessica Wolin at 212-685-4233 or by e-mail through [email protected].

 PRESS:                    All members of the press can RSVP by contacting Ellyn Fisher at 212-984-1964 or [email protected] 

Library of American Broadcasting

The Library of American Broadcasting (LAB) located at the University of Maryland — is entering its 41st year serving as the national information resource for the radio and television industries and the academic communities that rely upon it for depth and expertise. Its collections of historic documents, professional papers, oral and video histories, books and photographs are among the nation’s most extensive. LAB is evolving from a conventional library into a “homepage” for the world at large, no longer confined to responding to constituents one at a time but reaching thousands simultaneously through the Internet. Industry outreach includes lectures, symposia, print and the broadcast media themselves.

LAB’s chair is Virginia Hubbard Morris, president of Hubbard Radio, based in Minneapolis-St. Paul; the president/CEO is Donald West, veteran broadcast journalist and former assistant to the president of CBS Inc.; the dean of libraries at the University of Maryland is Patricia Steele, and the curator is Chuck Howell.

The Library has been honoring leaders in the broadcasting industry annually since 2003 — its list of Giants will now reach 150. Previous honorees include industry founders Guglielmo Marconi, David Sarnoff of RCA and NBC, William S. Paley and Frank Stanton of CBS, Leonard Goldenson of ABC, Bob Hope, Lucille Ball, Jack Benny, Philo Farnsworth, H. V. Kaltenborn, Edward R. Murrow, Walter Cronkite, Arthur Godfrey, Paul Harvey, Charlie Rose, Ken Burns, Johnny Carson, Katie Couric, Brian Williams, Christiane Amanpour, Lowry Mays and Tim Russert.